Sri Lanka: New cabinet ministers take oath

( January 12, 2015, Colombo, Sri Lanka Guardian) President Maithripala Sirisena today appointed 27 Cabinet Ministers, ten State ministers and eight Deputy Ministers at a ceremony held at the Presidential Secretariat in Colombo, where the parliamentarians took oath.

Some ministers and deputy ministers who served under former president Mahinda Rajapaksa were defected and pledged to support President Sirisena, yesterday. Former President Rajapaka’s cabinet had more than 110 Ministers,Deputy Ministers and State Ministers.

Cabinet Ministers

1.Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinghe – Minister of Economic Development & Policy Implementation
2.Ravi Karunanayake – Minister of Finance
3.Joseph Michael Perera – Home Affairs
4.John Amaratunga – Public Peace & Christian Affairs
5.Duminda Dissanayake – Minister of Irrigation
6.Dr. Rajitha Senaratna – Minister of Health and Indigenous Medicine
7.Kabir Hashim – Minister of Highways and Investment Promotion
8.Sajith Premadasa – Minister of Housing and Samurdhi
9.Naveen Dissanayake – Minister of Tourism
10.Wijedasa Rajapaksa – Minister of Justice
11.Arjuna Ranatunga – Minister of Ports and Naval
12.Patali Champika Ranawaka – Minister of Power and Energy
13.Rishad Bathiudeen – Minister of Industry and Commerce
14.Gayantha Karunathilake – Minister of Media
15.Palani Diganbaram – Minister of Estate Infrastructure Development
16.Akila Viraj Kariyawasam – Minister of Education
17.D.M. Swaminathan – Minister of Resettlement, Reconstruction and Hindu Affairs
18.Rauff Hakeem – Minister of Urban Development, Water Supply and Drainage
19.Thalatha Athukorala – Minister of Foreign Employment
20.Ranjith Madduma Bandara – Minister of Internal Transport
21.P. Harrison – Social Services and Social Welfare
22.M.K.D.S. Gunawardena – Minister of Land
23.Chandrani Bandara – Minister of Women’s Affairs
24.Karu Jayasuriya- Minister of Buddhist Affairs
25.Lakshman Kiriella – Minister of Plantation
26.Mangala Samaraweera – Minister of Foreign Affairs
27.Gamini Jayawickrama Perera – Minister of Food Protection

Ministers of State

1.Nandimithra Ekanayake- Ministry of Culture
2.V. Radhakrishnan- Ministry of Education
3.Faizer Mustapha- Ministry of Estate Affairs
4.Palitha Range Bandara- Ministry of Power and Energy
5.Dilip Wedaarachchi- Ministry of Fisheries
6.Rosy Senanayake- Ministry of Child Development
7.Rajiva Wijesinghe- Higher Education
8.Ruwan Wijewardene- Defence Ministry
9.K. Velayudhan- Ministry of Traditional Industries

Deputy ministers

1.Champika Premadasa- Ministry of Industry and Commerce
2.Harsha de Silva- Minister of Economic Development & Policy Implementation
3.Eran Wickramaratne- Ministry of Road and Investment Development
4.Sujeewa Senasinghe - Ministry of Justice
5.Wasantha Senanayake- Ministry of Tourism
6.Vijayakala Maheswaran- Ministry of Women’s Affairs
7.Ajith P. Perera- Ministry of Foreign Affairs
8.Anoma Gamage- Ministry of Irrigation


Post a Comment