Sri Lanka's de-facto Government has no majority --- Speaker

President Sirisena avoided the session

Just before the vote was taken up Rajapaksa walked out of the chamber with his son

122 out of 225 against Rajapaksa 

(November 14, 2018, Colombo, Sri Lanka Guardian) Speaker of the Parliament Karu Jayasuriya admits the de-facto government installed by President Maithripala Sirisena has no majority.

Meanwhile, the Speaker of the Parliament has suspended the parliament session till tomorrow morning shortly after reconvened in this morning. Members of the de-facto Government continually disturbed the session.

However, President Sirisena did not attend the session.

Meanwhile, reliable sources from President office said that President may suspend the Parliament for 14 days through special Gazette notification this evening. However, no one is available for official comment.

"No-confidence motion against installed Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa has read in the Parliment, and it has been passed with a majority," Lakshman Bandara Kiriella, MP, the Leader of the House and the former Minister of Higher Education and Highways told the local media. Ajith Perra MP from the same political party also expressed the same view.

[caption id="attachment_53719" align="alignleft" width="212"] Leaving the house[/caption]

Just before the vote was taken up, Mahinda Rajapaksa walked out of the chamber, escorted by his son and MP Namal Rajapaksa, after which MPs backing him tried disrupting the vote.

"Too much chaos to take vote by name," says an MP.

Meanwhile, "an extraordinary situation which calls for urgent decisions. It is imperative to take up the motion proposed by the JVP for debate and vote, to establish that we have the majority and not the purported government, masquerading as the legal govt of Sri Lanka," Rauff Hakeem MP said.

According to Abraham Sumanthiran MP TNA, "Parliament adopts the No Confidence Motion submitted by the #JVP against Mahinda Rajapakshe and his cabinet by a voice vote. The “Ayes” are signing a memo to Speaker now"

Meanwhile, Opposition leader R Sambanthan says the JVP's no-confidence motion passed in parliament with a vast majority.

A total of 122 MPs have now informed the Speaker that they voted against the purported new government, says controversially deposed Prime Minister Ranil, Wickramasinghe at the media conference in Parliament.

That’s a majority in the 225-member Parliament, he said.

The leader of Opposition R Sampanthan, flanked by ousted PM Wickramasinghe and SLMC leader Rauff Hakeem, says 122 MPs have signed a motion saying they have no confidence in the purported new Government of controversially appointed PM Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Parliament will convene tomorrow 10 am in Colombo time.


Post a Comment