Sri Lanka: Speaker's Selection Committee Approved

121 votes received in favour while members of the de facto Government walked out the Chamber

(November 23, 2018, Colombo, Sri Lanka Guardian) The majority of the Parliamentarians have been approved the Parliament Selection Committee nominated by the Speaker Karu Jayasuriya. 121 votes received in favour of the decision.

The vote took place based on the electronic method.

However, installed Leader of the House in the de facto Govrebment, Dinesh Gunawardena has rejected Speaker Karu Jayasuriya's nomination of the Selection Committee. Then the members of the de facto government decided to walk out of the house.

Speaker Jayasuriya, at the commencement of today's parliamentary proceedings, had read out the list of MPs of the Selection Committee.

Speaker announced names giving 5 MPs each to UPFA and UNF and one each to TNA and JVP in committee of selection.

Meanwhile, Lakshman Kiriella says that it has been a month since the appointment of Mahinda Rajapaksa as PM but the majority is yet to be proven.’ We will allow the UPFA the majority in committees if they show a majority,’ he said.


Post a Comment