Ranil Wickramasinghe : Forever leader

Ranil elected leader amidst tense situation at Sirikotha

(December 19, Colombo, Sri Lanka Guardian) Ranil Wickremesinghe was elected leader of the UNP defeating Karu Jayasuriya a short while ago at the party elections. While Daya Gamage has been elected national organiser of the UNP.

A tense situation has erupted outside the UNP headqarters with supporters of Sajith Premadasa storming the Sirikotha building and pelting stone. The building has been damaged with vehicles nearby being caught in the crossfire and damaged as well.
Meanwhile Sajith Premadasa was elected Deputy Leader of the UNP .
Results : Ranil wins by 72 votes
Update 1 -UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe was elecetd leader by 72 votes, while Karua Jayasuriya got 24 votes .
Newly elected Deputy leader Sajith Premadasa received 52 votes defeating Ravi Karunanayake who received 44 votes.


Author: Sri Lanka Guardian

Sri Lanka Guardian has been providing breaking news & views for the progressive community since 2007. We are independent and non-profit.